Back to feed
News Story
meng shao (X)
1 sources

SpaceXSI launches unified 'The X Subscription' bundling Grok, Cursor, and X Premium

SpaceXSI has launched 'The X Subscription,' a unified plan that merges Grok, Grok Bot, Cursor, and X Premium into five tiers from Free to Ultra. Existing Grok and Cursor subscribers can keep their old plans or voluntarily switch, with prorated refunds for remaining time, but third-party model usage from Cursor plans is no longer included in the shared pool after switching. The company says xAI's in-house coding usage is at least twice that of the corresponding old Cursor plan.

SynthePulse Insight · AI deep reading

Putting Grok, Cursor, and X Premium Into One Subscription: SpaceXSI's Consolidated Ledger and What It Doesn't Say Clearly

Version 1 · 1 source

SpaceXSI announced a unified subscription, "The X Subscription," merging the previously separate Grok, Grok Bot, Cursor, and X Premium into a five-tier system. Existing users can keep their plans or switch, but third-party model usage is moved out of the shared pool, and there is no migration timeline—this official line currently comes only from a single relayed post on X.

  • The unified subscription covers four business lines—conversation, agents, coding, and social—with tiers Free, Plus ($8), Premium ($30), Super ($100), and Ultra ($200).
  • The official line says old plans are retained as-is with no deadline, only ceasing to accept new users; switching is entirely voluntary with prorated refunds for remaining time.
  • After switching, third-party models (Claude, GPT, etc.) previously included in the Cursor plan are no longer part of the shared usage pool, requiring separate top-ups at API rates, and are available only on Premium and above.
  • The official conversion reference is that each tier's xAI in-house model coding usage is at least 2x the corresponding old Cursor plan; the three benefits bundled in the Premium tier previously totaled $90/month.
  • All pricing, migration, and usage details come from a single relayed post on X, with no independently verifiable first-party announcement text provided.
Open section navigationA Launch Held Up by One Post: First, See the Information Hierarchy

A Launch Held Up by One Post: First, See the Information Hierarchy

The confirmable part of this launch is actually very thin. The only first-party trace in the source is a post from the SpaceX Super Intelligence official account: "We've unified plans across Grok, Cursor, and X Premium. Introducing The X Subscription."—this sentence confirms the merger itself, and that the three brands Grok, Cursor, and X Premium are included in the same subscription.

Beyond that, the five-tier pricing, existing-user migration rules, refund method, and usage conversion all come from the same relayed post on X (article_id 22178). That post does not attach the first-party announcement text or full terms, so these details are treated throughout this article as a relay of the official line, not as independently confirmed facts.

In other words, readers need to distinguish two layers: the launch of the merged subscription is confirmed; how exactly money is calculated, how migration works, and how usage is metered after the merger currently exist only as a relay.

Five-Tier Pricing and Four Business Lines: Where the Merger's Boundaries Lie

According to the relayed account, the unified subscription covers four business lines—conversation, agents, coding, and social—corresponding to the previously separate Grok, Grok Bot, Cursor, and X Premium. Tiers start at Free, then Plus ($8), Premium ($30), Super ($100), and Ultra ($200).

The key to this structure is not the number of tiers, but that it changes subscriptions originally billed by product into billing by person. The value reference given in the relay is: the Premium tier ($30) merges the three benefits of the former SuperGrok, Cursor Pro, and X Premium+, which previously totaled $90/month, with the usage pool refreshing weekly.

It should be noted that both the $90/month comparison figure and the "refreshes weekly" metering cycle come from the same relayed post, belonging to a relay of the official line; the source does not provide a corresponding first-party price list.

Existing Users Aren't Being Forced to Move, but the Endpoint Is Already Written

The migration design given in the relay is dual-track: old plans are retained as-is with no deadline, existing plans, prices, and features remain unchanged, and old plans only cease accepting new users; at the same time, the official line explicitly states it "will eventually migrate remaining users," but there is no timeline, with a promise of advance notice, and switching is entirely voluntary.

The switch entry is located in account billing settings, rolled out gradually; once visible, users follow prompts to link their X, Grok, and Cursor accounts, and the system recommends a tier based on existing subscriptions; Cursor users have a dedicated entry at cursor.com/unify, and the new subscription takes effect immediately after switching.

On refund arrangements, the relay says that upon switching, the old plan is refunded prorated for remaining time, annual subscribers "keep every day already paid for," no changes are made before the cycle ends, and a limited-time offer is attached—but the specific amount of the offer is shown only on the individual billing settings page and cannot be known from public sources.

There is a notable tension here: the official line simultaneously says "entirely voluntary" and "will eventually migrate remaining users." The former describes the current choice, the latter describes the endgame direction, and the time and method between the two are not disclosed in the source.

The Real Change in Benefits: Third-Party Models Moved Out of the Shared Pool

Among all the terms, the one with the most direct impact on existing Cursor users is: third-party models (Claude, GPT, etc.) included in the original Cursor plan remain valid before switching; after switching, they are not included in the shared usage pool, require separate top-ups at API rates, and are available only on Premium and above.

This means the "merger" is not a flat transfer of all capabilities into a single pool. After switching, xAI in-house models and third-party models are handled on separate accounts: the former enters the shared usage pool, the latter changes to separate top-ups at API rates. The conversion reference given in the relay is that each tier's xAI in-house model coding usage is "at least 2x the corresponding old Cursor plan."

This 2x is a relay of the official line, and the comparison baseline is "the corresponding old Cursor plan"; the source does not give absolute quotas for each tier. The specific rates for separate top-ups of third-party models at API rates are likewise undisclosed.

The Two Questions Users Care About Most: The Source Has Only Questions, No Answers

The comments attached to the relayed post expose two gaps not yet covered by the official line. First, some users worry that quotas share a single pool, so heavy coding might leave Grok short—this directly points to the actual quota and exhaustion rules of the shared usage pool, which the source does not disclose.

Second, some users ask whether the $20 Cursor plan for new users is now immediately discontinued. The source contains only this question, with no official answer; combined with the statement that "old plans only cease accepting new users," the actual execution status of this point cannot be determined from the available material.

Both of these are user-side questions, not official information, but they mark the blurriest areas of this merger plan in public information: how the pool is divided, and when the old entry points close.

How Much to Believe: An Official Line Pending Verification

Placing the above content back against evidence strength, the verifiability of this launch is low. Pricing, migration policy, and usage conversion are all relays of the official line, belonging to source claims rather than independent confirmation; key parameters such as the limited-time offer amount, shared pool quota, third-party model rates, and migration timeline are all missing from the source.

Therefore a more prudent reading is: the merged subscription has already happened, the five-tier structure and migration framework are the direction released officially, but the specific terms still need to be based on the first-party announcement or the actual display on the account billing page.

For users currently using Cursor or Grok, what really needs watching is not the tier names, but whether a switch entry appears in their account billing settings, what the recommended tier is, and how third-party model usage is billed after switching—these are the actual variables that determine cost.

Credibility boundary

All pricing, migration, and usage details in this article come from a single relayed post on X (article_id 22178), which does not provide independently verifiable first-party announcement text; only the fact that "SpaceXSI launched a unified subscription" is corroborated by an official account post. Key parameters such as the limited-time offer amount, shared usage pool quota, third-party model rates, and migration timeline are missing from the source, and related statements should be regarded as relays of the official line rather than confirmed facts.

Insight takeaway

"The X Subscription" folds four business lines into one five-tier price structure, with a clear direction; but third-party models being moved out of the shared pool, no migration timeline, and the offer amount not being public—these three points determine whether it is an upgrade or a change of calculation method for existing users. Until a first-party announcement or actual account page display appears, it is more appropriate to treat it as an official line pending verification.

Primary report

meng shao (X)

Primary source