Back to feed
News Story
Kimmonismus (X)
2 sources

OpenAI Boosts GPT-6 Astra and GPT-6.1 Sol Speed to 50 Tokens per Second

OpenAI has optimized the default speed of GPT-6 Astra and GPT-6.1 Sol, increasing token generation from 30 to 50 tokens per second. The update applies across all products and partners using Sign in With ChatGPT, including OpenCode, Pi, Amp, and Devin, and requires no action from users.

SynthePulse Insight · AI deep reading

"~50% Faster" GPT-6 Speedup: What Can a Single Relay Post Prove?

Version 1 · 1 source

TestingCatalog relayed Tibo's claim on X, saying that GPT-6 Astra and GPT-6.1 Sol's default speed under subscription has been optimized to about 50% faster, covering all OpenAI products and partners using Sign in With ChatGPT. But this news currently exists only as a secondhand relay, with no first-party announcement, no baseline, no measurement methodology, and no third-party verification.

  • Core claim: Tibo says GPT-6 Astra and GPT-6.1 Sol's default speed under subscription has been optimized to about 50% faster.
  • Coverage: Reportedly covers all OpenAI products as well as partners using Sign in With ChatGPT, with OpenCode, Pi, Amp, Devin and others named.
  • User side: Tibo says no changes are needed on the user end.
  • Source level: Among the given sources there is only this one relay post from TestingCatalog, with no official OpenAI or first-party original announcement.
  • Key gap: The source does not specify the comparison baseline, measurement methodology, or test conditions for the "50% faster" claim, nor is there any third-party independent verification or benchmark data.
  • Comment section reaction: Some users questioned whether this is just "shouldbefast," while others said they would rather run faster models on their own machines.
Open section navigationWhat One Post Says

What One Post Says

According to TestingCatalog's relay on X, Tibo (@thsottiaux) says GPT-6 Astra and GPT-6.1 Sol's default speed under subscription has been optimized to about 50% faster. The claim covers all OpenAI products as well as partners using Sign in With ChatGPT; named partners include OpenCode, Pi, Amp, Devin and others. Tibo also says no changes are needed on the user end.

This relay post was published on October 5, 2026, at 17:49 (UTC), showing approximately 4,954 to 5,010 views. TestingCatalog added a comment of "Halfultrafast?!" when relaying, and Tibo's original post begins with "Day 1/."

Why This News Can Currently Only Count as a "Claim"

Among the given sources there is only this one relay post from TestingCatalog, with no official OpenAI or first-party original announcement. In other words, what readers see is not a formal vendor release, but a third-party account re-relaying a post from someone on the vendor side.

More critically, the source does not specify the comparison baseline, measurement methodology, or test conditions for the "50% faster" claim. Without a baseline, it is impossible to judge whether this 50% is relative to the previous-generation model, relative to the previous default configuration, or relative to some specific scenario; without a measurement methodology, it is also impossible to judge whether this is end-to-end latency, time to first token, or throughput.

The source likewise provides no third-party independent verification or benchmark test data. Therefore, "about 50% faster" can currently only be treated as a source_claim self-reported by the vendor side, and cannot be taken as a confirmed performance fact.

Coverage Scope and the Boundaries of "No Changes Needed"

According to Tibo's claim, the speedup covers all OpenAI products as well as partners using Sign in With ChatGPT, with OpenCode, Pi, Amp, Devin and others named. This scope statement itself is fairly broad, but the source does not specify the exact point in time when the speedup takes effect or details of the rollout scope.

"No changes are needed on the user end" is likewise Tibo's claim. The source does not specify whether the speedup is long-term effective or whether it comes with other conditions, nor does it specify whether the optimization affects pricing, quotas, or other subscription terms. Therefore, whether "no changes needed" on the user end holds in all integration scenarios remains uncertain.

Skepticism in the Comment Section Is Not Without Basis

In the comment section of the post, some users questioned whether the speedup is just "shouldbefast," while others said they would rather run faster models on their own machines. These reactions themselves are confirmed comment content, reflecting some readers' reserved attitude toward statements like "50% faster."

This reservation is consistent with the gaps at the source level: lacking a baseline, lacking a measurement methodology, and lacking independent verification, any "50% faster" statement is difficult for outside readers to directly test.

A Checklist of What Can Be Confirmed and What Remains to Be Confirmed

What can be confirmed is: TestingCatalog relayed the above speedup claim on X, with the comment "Halfultrafast?!"; the post was published on October 5, 2026, at 17:49 (UTC), showing approximately 4,954 to 5,010 views; the speedup claim comes from the account Tibo (@thsottiaux), whose post begins with "Day 1/"; and the comment section contains two types of reactions: skepticism and alternative preferences.

What remains to be confirmed is: the comparison baseline for "about 50% faster" is unclear, making it impossible to judge what it is faster relative to; whether the speedup has actually taken effect across all products and partners is still uncertain; the claim lacks a first-party source and independent verification, so its authenticity remains to be confirmed; whether the speedup is maintained long-term or is only a phased optimization is still unclear; whether "no changes needed" on the user end holds in all integration scenarios is still uncertain; and the source does not specify whether the optimization affects pricing, quotas, or other subscription terms.

Credibility boundary

The source this article relies on is only TestingCatalog's relay post on X, which is a secondhand relay with no first-party original announcement. The speedup claim comes from Tibo's (@thsottiaux) post and is a vendor-side self-report. The source does not give the comparison baseline, measurement methodology, or test conditions for "50% faster," nor does it provide third-party independent verification or benchmark test data. Therefore, statements such as "about 50% faster" in this article are all treated as source_claim and should not be regarded as confirmed performance facts.

Insight takeaway

"GPT-6 is about 50% faster" is currently a vendor-side self-report with a clear source but lacking a first-party announcement and independent verification. Until the baseline, measurement methodology, and rollout scope details are filled in, readers would do well to treat it as a claim awaiting verification rather than a conclusion that can be directly accepted.

Primary report

Kimmonismus (X)

Primary source

Same-event coverage

Also covered by 1 sources