Back to feed
News Story
NVIDIA AI Blog
1 sources

NVIDIA Opens Applications for 2027-2028 Graduate Fellowships With Awards Up to $60,000

NVIDIA has opened applications for its 2027-2028 Graduate Fellowship Program, offering awards of up to $60,000 per student. The program supports doctoral research in AI, machine learning, autonomous vehicles, robotics, and related fields, and requires an in-person internship at an NVIDIA research office in summer 2027. The application deadline is October 30, 2026.

SynthePulse Insight · AI deep reading

NVIDIA Graduate Fellowship Applications Open: Behind the $60,000 Cap Is an Internship Hurdle You Must Clear First

Version 1 · 1 source

NVIDIA has opened applications for its 2027–2028 academic year graduate fellowship, with awards of up to $60,000 each and a deadline of October 30, 2026. But what really determines application strategy may not be the dollar figure—it's the hard-and-fast sequence of "internship first, award later."

  • Applications for the NVIDIA Graduate Fellowship for the 2027–2028 academic year are open, accepted worldwide, with a deadline of October 30, 2026.
  • Awards are up to $60,000 each, but this is a cap; the source does not explain how actual award amounts are distributed.
  • Applicants must be current PhD students who have completed at least their first year of doctoral study at the time of application.
  • Before receiving the award, recipients must first complete an on-site internship at NVIDIA Research, and selected applicants must be able to participate in summer 2027.
  • The program is now in its 26th year, having awarded more than 220 grants totaling about $8 million since 2002.
  • Supported fields center on AI, machine learning, autonomous driving, computer graphics, robotics, healthcare, high-performance computing and related areas.
Open section navigationA Hard Sequence Hidden Behind the Dollar Figure

A Hard Sequence Hidden Behind the Dollar Figure

NVIDIA has opened applications for its 2027–2028 academic year graduate fellowship, with awards of up to $60,000 each and an application deadline of October 30, 2026. For most observers, $60,000 is the easiest number to remember. But what truly affects the feasibility of applying is another constraint in this information: before the fellowship academic year, applicants must first complete an on-site internship at NVIDIA Research, and selected applicants must be able to participate in that internship in summer 2027.

This means the application is not "get the money first, then arrange your schedule," but rather "confirm you can be there in summer 2027 first, then talk about the fellowship." For PhD students who already have summer plans, visa or location constraints, this sequence itself is the first screening hurdle. The source does not specify the internship's exact location, duration or compensation arrangements, so it is impossible to further judge the actual time cost of this internship for applicants.

Eligibility Threshold: After the First PhD Year, and the Field Must Match

Applicants must have completed at least their first year of doctoral study at the time of application. This is a clear eligibility line, meaning PhD students who have just enrolled are not within the scope of this round of applications.

The program focuses on supporting students conducting research in AI, machine learning, autonomous driving, computer graphics, robotics, healthcare, high-performance computing and related fields. The source describes the supported fields as "and related areas," so the boundary is not fully narrowed, but the core fields remain concentrated on computing research related to NVIDIA's technology.

More information on eligibility conditions and how to apply must be found on the program's official website. The source does not explain the review criteria or selection process details, nor does it state the number of fellowships planned for the 2027–2028 academic year.

26 Years, 220 Grants, About $8 Million: What the Historical Data Can Show

The program is now in its 26th year. Since its launch in 2002, the program has awarded more than 220 grants, totaling about $8 million.

Putting these two numbers together allows a rough arithmetic observation: about $8 million spread across more than 220 grants means the average size per grant is clearly below the $60,000 cap. But the source does not explain the distribution across years, nor how actual award amounts are allocated, so it is not possible to infer the actual award amounts for this round, let alone treat $60,000 as a typical award.

What can be confirmed is the program's continuity: 26 years and more than 220 grants show that this is not a one-off promotional move, but a long-running funding program. However, the cumulative historical data itself does not constitute a commitment regarding the number or amount of fellowships for the 2027–2028 academic year.

"Funding, Mentors, Technical Support": Official Wording and What Is Not Explained

NVIDIA says the program provides students with funding, mentorship and technical support. This wording comes from the official blog and is a source claim, not an independently verifiable third-party conclusion.

The source does not elaborate on the specific form of mentorship, the resource scope of technical support, or whether these supports are additive to or parallel with the $60,000 award. For applicants, these details may affect the actual experience more than the award cap, but they cannot currently be confirmed from the source.

The Information Boundary of a Single Source

All the above information comes from a single source—NVIDIA's official blog—and has not been independently verified by a third party. This is not to say the information is untrustworthy, but that readers should be clear: the award cap, deadline, internship requirement and cumulative historical data currently all rest on the official account alone.

The source does not specify the internship's exact location, duration or compensation arrangements, does not explain the review criteria or selection process details, and does not state the number of fellowships for the 2027–2028 academic year. These gaps do not affect the confirmed application window and hard requirements, but they do affect applicants' judgment of the input-output tradeoff.

Credibility boundary

All facts in this article come from a single source—NVIDIA's official blog—and have not been independently verified by a third party. Among these, the opening of applications, the $60,000 cap, the October 30, 2026 deadline, the internship requirement, the first-year PhD threshold, the program's 26th year, more than 220 grants and about $8 million total since 2002, the supported fields, worldwide acceptance of applications, and eligibility information being available on the official website are all treated as confirmed-level per the source; "provides funding, mentorship and technical support" is NVIDIA's official wording and is treated as a source claim; judgments such as "internship first, award later" constituting the first screening hurdle and the average grant size being below the cap are inferences based on source facts and do not represent the source's conclusions.

Insight takeaway

$60,000 is a cap, not a promise; October 30, 2026 is the deadline, but the real starting line is whether you can be at NVIDIA Research in summer 2027 to complete the on-site internship. For eligible current PhD students, confirming this timeline first and then deciding whether to apply is more practical than staring at the dollar figure.

Primary report

NVIDIA AI Blog

Primary source