Back to feed
News Story
AI Business
1 sources

Anthropic unveils Opus 5.5: powerful performance, still premium price

Anthropic has unveiled Opus 5.5, a new AI model that delivers powerful performance but maintains a premium price point. The release highlights Anthropic's continued position outside the aggressive price war being waged by rival AI labs.

SynthePulse Insight · AI deep reading

Opus 5.5 Cut 20% but Still Pricier Than GPT-6: Anthropic's Pricing War Bind and the Shift to 'Usable Intelligence Per Dollar'

Version 1 · 1 source

Anthropic released Opus 5.5, the first model in the Claude 5.5 family, cutting the price from Opus 5's $5 per million input tokens and $25 per million output tokens to $4 and $20. But OpenAI's GPT-6 Sol and GPT-6 Luna, launched the same day, are priced lower, and a third-party evaluation says the model's output token count rose 50%, leaving the real effect of the price cut in doubt.

  • Anthropic launched Claude Opus 5.5 on Tuesday, the first model in the Claude 5.5 family, priced at $4 per million input tokens and $20 per million output tokens, a 20% cut from Opus 5's $5 and $25.
  • OpenAI released GPT-6 Sol ($2 input, $10 output) and GPT-6 Luna ($0.10 input, $1.50 output) the same day, and reports say Opus 5.5 is still more expensive than both, leaving Anthropic behind in the pricing war.
  • Opus 5.5 is priced slightly below GPT-Astra, which OpenAI released on September 3 at $10 input and $50 output.
  • CodeRabbit's Hendrik Krack says that with the same input, Opus 5.5 produces 50% more output tokens, so the price cut may mean little for most users and could even make it more expensive.
  • Krack says the model performed impressively in 24-to-48-hour long-horizon coding evaluations, finding twice as many complex bugs as the baseline model, but showed little difference on standard problems and requires very explicit instructions.
  • Anthropic claims Opus 5.5 is less likely than Opus 5 or Claude Mythos 5.1 to break boundaries, and that it is applying cybersecurity protections similar to those of the Fable 5.1 cyber model; these are all vendor claims.
Open section navigationOne Price Cut, Two Frames of Reference

One Price Cut, Two Frames of Reference

Anthropic launched Claude Opus 5.5 on Tuesday, the first model in the Claude 5.5 family. On pricing, Opus 5.5 is $4 per million input tokens and $20 per million output tokens; the previous generation, Opus 5, was $5 per million input and $25 output, a 20% cut.

But whether the price cut amounts to a pricing advantage depends on who it is compared with. The report states clearly that despite the 20% cut, Opus 5.5 is still more expensive than OpenAI's GPT-6 Sol and GPT-6 Luna, released the same day, and that Anthropic remains behind in the pricing war with its rivals. GPT-6 Sol is priced at $2 per million input tokens and $10 output; GPT-6 Luna at $0.10 per million input and $1.50 output.

Another frame of reference favors Anthropic: GPT-Astra, which OpenAI released on September 3, is priced at $10 per million input tokens and $50 output, and Opus 5.5 is slightly cheaper than that model. In other words, Anthropic's pricing sits in the middle of OpenAI's product line — above the high-volume Sol and Luna, below the high-end Astra.

Beyond the Nominal Unit Price: The 50% Output Token Variable

Whether the price cut translates into lower actual spending for users is where the report offers countervailing evidence. Hendrik Krack, a developer advocate at AI software development and change management firm CodeRabbit, said that for most consumers the price drop may not make much difference, and could even make things more expensive, because the model tends to think more and output more tokens, and those tokens are ultimately billed by volume.

Krack said CodeRabbit ran multiple evaluations of the model and found that even with the same input as the previous-generation model, Claude Opus 5.5 produced 50% more tokens.

A distinction is needed here: the 50% figure is an evaluation observation from CodeRabbit's side, a source claim, and the report does not disclose the evaluation method, sample size, or the specific version of the baseline model, nor does it give a quantified conclusion on whether actual usage cost is higher than before the price cut. So whether the increase in output tokens offsets the 20% price cut can currently only be treated as a question awaiting independent replication, not a confirmed conclusion.

The Capability Narrative: Long-Horizon Coding and Knowledge-Heavy Work

Anthropic positions Opus 5.5 as advanced agentic coding, saying it excels at long-horizon, complex, multi-step software tasks and is optimized for knowledge-heavy workloads such as financial research, complex document analysis, and synthesis writing. The model also includes a feature that adjusts the scale of reasoning according to the prompt it receives. All of the above are vendor claims, and the report provides no third-party verification.

CodeRabbit's evaluation offers partial but clearly bounded corroboration for this narrative. Krack said that in evaluations of 24-to-48-hour long-horizon coding tasks, the model performed impressively, and what it built surprised the team; in complex bug-detection tasks, Opus 5.5 found twice as many bugs as CodeRabbit's current baseline model.

But the same source also gives limiting conditions: on standard problems, there is little difference between the baseline model and Opus 5.5; and the model needs very explicit, well-formulated instructions to achieve its goals. Krack's exact words were that you have to make sure the input instructions are very explicit and well-formulated. This means the capability advantage is concentrated in long-horizon and complex tasks, not a broad improvement across the board.

Safety Claims and Amodei's 'Slowdown' Argument

Anthropic claims Opus 5.5 is less likely than Opus 5 or Claude Mythos 5.1 to break boundaries, and says it is applying cybersecurity protections to the model similar to those of the Fable 5.1 cyber model. The report calls this feature 'significant if confirmed,' but does not explain how it would be verified, and the original report is truncated at the cybersecurity protections paragraph, leaving the relevant information incomplete.

This statement echoes a public argument by CEO Dario Amodei. The report notes that in a widely read blog post on September 13, Amodei argued that AI companies should allow third-party evaluators to review their models' safety terms, and called for coordinating industry safety standards among vendors and the U.S. and other democratic governments.

The report's framing is this: Anthropic is trying to compete on price while trying to appear to still follow its own principles. But whether third-party evaluation and coordination of industry safety standards will actually happen is something the report provides no progress information on.

From 'Maximum Intelligence' to 'Usable Intelligence Per Dollar'

Sid Nag, founder of independent AI analysis firm Tekonyx, believes the model race is shifting from pursuing maximum intelligence and maximum reasoning capability to 'usable intelligence per dollar,' and calls this a financial-level shift. He also says Anthropic appears to be continuing to innovate while also holding to its mission of slowing AI development.

This judgment is corroborated by the pricing facts: Anthropic chose to cut prices by 20% at the same time as launching the first model in the 5.5 family, rather than holding the previous generation's price. But the report does not give a clear judgment on whether the price-cut strategy can change Anthropic's competitive position in the pricing war; Nag's view is an analyst's judgment, not a verified market conclusion.

The Boundaries of the Evidence

The reporting this article relies on comes from a single source, AI Business, with no other independent sources for cross-verification. Anthropic's statements about model capabilities, safety boundaries, and cyber protections are all vendor claims; CodeRabbit's evaluation data was provided orally by its developer advocate, and the report does not disclose the evaluation method, sample size, or the specific version of the baseline model.

In addition, Anthropic did not publish Opus 5.5's benchmark scores or direct performance comparisons with competitors in the report. The model release and pricing information are as of the time the report was published (September 23, 2026) and may change later. The original report is truncated where it mentions Anthropic's upcoming next moves, so that content is unknown.

Credibility boundary

All facts in this article come from a single source, a report by AI Business (published September 23, 2026), with no independent sources for cross-verification. The pricing and release information are facts confirmed by the report; the model capabilities, safety boundaries, and cyber protections are Anthropic's own claims; CodeRabbit's token increase, bug-detection multiple, and long-horizon performance are evaluation claims provided orally by its developer advocate, with the evaluation method, sample size, and baseline version all undisclosed; Sid Nag's 'usable intelligence per dollar' judgment is an analyst's opinion. The original report is truncated at the cybersecurity protections paragraph.

Insight takeaway

Opus 5.5's 20% price cut is real, but it faces two unfavorable facts at once: horizontally, it is still more expensive than the GPT-6 Sol and GPT-6 Luna released the same day; vertically, a third-party evaluation says its output token count rose 50%, which may offset the nominal price cut. What Anthropic is really betting on is whether high-value scenarios like long-horizon coding and knowledge-heavy work can support its premium positioning — and the evidence for that still comes from a single evaluator, with the caveat that it 'requires very explicit instructions.'

Primary report

AI Business

Primary source